Nuclear Power and Secure Energy Transitions: From Today's Challenges to Tomorrow's Clean Energy Systems

Sign In

Create an account

Create a free IEA account to download our reports or subcribe to a paid service.

Join for freeJoin for free
EU4Energy - logo

​EU4Energy Phase I is an energy programme funded by th​​​e European Union and focused on the countries of the Eastern Partnership (EaP) and Central Asia: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbekista​n. It was designed to support the aspirations of Focus Countries to implement sustainable energy policies and foster co-operative energy sector development at the regional level. The programme started on 1 July 2016 and will run until 30 June 2022.

The EU has renewed the EU4Energy Programme for a second phase , which began 1 July 2021 and will run until 30 June 2025. EU4Energy Phase II focuses solely on the six countries of the EU’s Eastern Partnership: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova, and Ukraine.

The programme's aim is to improve energy data capabilities and enhance data collection and monitoring of the 11 beneficiary countries. It also assists them in evidence-based energy policy design. In addition, the programme provides technical assistance on legislative and regulatory framework and on key energy infrastructure investments to the six countries of the Eastern Partnership (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine).

EU4Energy builds on the success of the long running INOGATE Programme and follows the objectives for regional cooperation agreed between the EU and the beneficiary countries. It will contribute to​ the EU’s Platform on Energy Security and the Energy Flagship Initiative.

The IEA is responsible for the programme’s energy data management and data use in policy design. It will also run the programme’s policy dialogue initiatives, including organizing ministerial conferences and other high-level events. The programme also includes collaboration with the Energy Community Secretariat and the Energy Charter Secretariat, who will provide technical assistance in Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine.​​​​

Related analysis