Association of Southeast Asian Nations

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a regional intergovernmental association comprising Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

In 2011, the IEA and ASEAN formally recognised their ongoing co-operation in energy-related activities by signing a Memorandum of Understanding focused on information-sharing, training and capacity-building on key energy priorities in the region such as: stable and affordable energy supply, power sector development and market integration; the ASEAN Petroleum Security Agreement (APSA); and energy efficiency. The IEA is an official Dialogue Partner of ASEAN and participates in the annual ASEAN Ministers of Energy Meeting.

At the 34th ASEAN Ministers of Energy Meeting in 2016 in Myanmar, the ASEAN-IEA Joint Statement of cooperation was again endorsed. During an official visit to Thailand in July 2018 the IEA Executive Director discussed next steps for collaboration ahead of Thailand's ASEAN presidency in 2019.

The IEA has conducted regular in-depth studies of the energy challenges facing this region, in particular a series of WEO Special Reports that provide insights for policy makers, industry and other energy stakeholders to help address the energy sector challenges facing the region. Other work includes Development Prospects of the ASEAN Power Sector and Regional Energy Efficiency Policy Recommendations for Southeast Asia in 2015.