African Union

Promoting the socio-economic development of Africa

The African Union (AU), created in 2002, consists of 55 African member states. It aims to promote the socio-economic development of Africa and address the challenges posed by globalization.

Based on a history of collaboration, the IEA and the AU agreed in 2018 to a strategic partnership towards a more secure, sustainable and clean energy future for countries across the African continent through a memorandum of understanding. Eradicating energy poverty is a priority for the IEA and the agreement will play a vital role in stepping up efforts to achieve secure and sustainable energy for all.