This series of articles, published in our report “Technology and innovation pathways for zero-carbon-ready buildings by 2030”, was prepared as a collaborative effort between the Energy Technology Policy (ETP) Division of the Directorate of Sustainability, Technology and Outlooks (STO) of the International Energy Agency (IEA), and numerous experts of the IEA Technology Collaboration Programmes (TCPs), including the Energy in Buildings and Communities (EBC TCP), the Cities TCP, the District Heating and Cooling (DHC TCP), the Energy Efficient End-Use Equipment (4E TCP), the Energy Storage (ES TCP), the Heat Pumping Technologies (HPT TCP), the Hybrid and Electric Vehicles (HEV TCP), the Photovoltaic Power Systems (PVPS TCP), the Smart Grids (ISGAN TCP), the Solar Heating and Cooling (SHC TCP), and the User-Centred Energy Systems (Users TCP).

The report was designed by Thibaut Abergel and Chiara Delmastro, building analysts at the IEA. The project was directed by Ezilda Costanzo, Agenzia nazionale per le nuove tecnologie, l’energia e lo sviluppo economico sostenibile (ENEA), Vice Chair of the End-Use Working Party (EUWP) and lead for the Buildings Coordination Group, and by Timur Gül, Head of the Energy Technology Policy Division at the IEA. Araceli Fernandez Pales, Head of Technology Innovation Unit of the Energy Technology Policy Division at the IEA, provided strategic guidance throughout the development of the project.

Ezilda Costanzo and Chiara Delmastro coordinated the analysis and production of the report. This project was facilitated by the Buildings Coordination Group established by the IEA EUWP.

This report, “Technology and innovation pathways for zero-carbon-ready buildings by 2030”, has been developed collaboratively between the IEA and the TCPs based on milestones for the buildings sector in the IEA’s Net Zero Emissions by 2050 Roadmap (NZE Scenario). Individual articles reflect the views of experts from the IEA TCPs on how to achieve the most impactful short-term milestones for the buildings sectors outlined in the IEA’s NZE Scenario. Each article is the work of the Principal Author(s) of that section and the derived recommendations reflect the input from all participants.

Principal Authors of the articles are:

Helmut Strasser from the Cities TCP provided relevant comments and insights to several articles.

Colleagues from the IEA Energy Demand Outlook Division led by Laura Cozzi provided essential comments and feedback, in particular Timothy Goodson. Martin Husek and Rafael Martinez Gordon from the Energy Technology Policy Division supported the review and production of the articles.

Other IEA colleagues provided valuable inputs through reviews of the articles, including Ekta Meena Bibra, Leonardo Paoli, and Jacob Teter of the Energy Technology Policy Division; Daniel Crow and Leonie Staas of the Energy Demand Outlook Division; and Clara Camarasa and Ksenia Petrichenko of the Energy Efficiency Division.

Thanks also to Jon Custer, Astrid Dumond, Merve Erdil, Grace Gordon, Jethro Mullen, Isabelle Nonain-Semelin, Julie Puech, Lucile Wall; Therese Walsh and Wonjik Yang of the Communications and Digital Office. Reka Koczka and Per-Anders Widell provided production support.

Diane Munro edited the manuscript.

Additional thanks go to Andrej Jentsch (IEA DHC TCP); Erwin Mlecnik, Harald Walnum, Hauke Meyer, Jørgen Rose, and Roman Bolliger (IEA EBC TCP); Bert Gysen, Dirk Uwe Sauer, and Stan van den Broek (IEA ES TCP); Jack Corscadden and Aksana Krasatsenka (EuroHeat & Power); Carol Burelle and James Miller (IEA HEV TCP); Thomas Fleckl, Michèle Mondot, Viktor Öhlén, Svend Vinther Pedersen, Asahi Takahiro, and all delegates of the Executive Committee and Operating Agents of the IEA HPT TCP; Nils Borg, David Boughey, Casper Kofod and Hans-Paul Siderius, (IEA 4E TCP); Pamela Murphy (IEA SHC TCP); Samuel Thomas (USERS TCP).