Clean Energy Ministerial - logo

Encouraging and facilitating the transition to a global clean energy economy

The Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM) is a high-level global forum to promote policies and programs that advance clean energy technology, to share lessons learned and best practices, and to encourage the transition to a global clean energy economy.

Initiatives and campaigns are based on areas of common interest among participating governments and other stakeholders. The 29 participating CEM Members are: Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Denmark, the European Commission (on behalf the European Union), Finland, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, South Africa, the United Kingdom, and the United States. The Framework for the Clean Energy Ministerial, reaffirmed at the twelfth Clean Energy Ministerial in 2021, defines the CEM governance structure and outlines the mission statement, objectives, membership, and guiding principles.

The CEM Secretariat is hosted by the IEA since 2018. Of the 20 current workstreams, the IEA is responsible for coordinating 6 long-term initiatives:

The IEA also coordinates 3 short-term campaigns: