Event — Paris, France

IEA 2022 Ministerial Meeting

The Year of Implementation: Accelerating Global Action on Clean Energy and Energy Security

Energy and climate ministers from IEA Member, Association and Accession countries, and other key partners, will meet in Paris on 23 and 24 March for the 2022 IEA Ministerial Meeting, which comes at a critical time for the global economy and energy markets following Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

Since the start of the crisis, the IEA and its Members have expressed their solidarity with Ukraine, responding with clear actions in response to the energy market impacts. The 2022 IEA Ministerial Meeting will address today’s urgent energy security challenges, including the importance of accelerating the clean energy transition as a key part of the solution.

The Ministerial Meeting will be chaired by US Secretary of Energy Jennifer Granholm, with three Vice Chairs: Angus Taylor, Australia’s Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction; Tinne Van der Straeten, Belgium’s Minister of Energy; and Dan Jørgensen, Denmark’s Minister of Climate, Energy and Utilities. Top representatives from industry, finance and civil society will also participate in the event.

Governments are seeking to ensure secure and affordable energy supplies for citizens while implementing the commitments they made at the COP26 Climate Change Conference in Glasgow aimed at reducing global emissions. The Ministerial Meeting will be an important opportunity to advance the IEA’s engagement on these critical issues with representatives of the Energy Business Council and the wider IEA Family of Accession and Association countries and other key partners. 

The livestream link available on this page will display the Ministerial plenary session, starting on March 23, at 2pm.



  •  Jennifer M. Granholm, Secretary of Energy, United States


  • Angus Taylor, Minister for Industry, Energy and Emissions Reduction, Australia
  • Tinne Van der Straeten, Minister of Energy, Belgium
  • Dan Jørgensen, Minister for Climate, Energy and Utilities, Denmark

IEA Secretariat and Governing Board

  • Hiroshi Oe, Chair, Governing Board
  • Fatih Birol, Executive Director, Secretariat


  • Amani Abou-Zeid, Commissioner for Infrastructure and Energy, African Union
  • Martin Guzman, Minister of Economy, Argentina
  • Leonore Gewessler, Federal Minister for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology, Austria
  • Bento Albuquerque, Minister of Mines and Energy, Brazil
  • Jonathan Wilkinson, Minister of Natural Resources, Canada
  • Claudio Huepe, Minister of Energy, Chile
  • Zhang Jianhua, Minister of Energy, National Energy Administration, China*
  • Diego Mesa Puyo, Minister of Mines and Energy, Colombia
  • Jozef Síkela, Minister of Industry and Trade, Czech Republic
  • Tarek El-Molla, Minister of Petroleum and Mineral Resources, Egypt
  • Taavi Aas, Minister of Economic Affairs and Infrastructure, Estonia
  • Kadri Simson, Commissioner for Energy, European Union
  • Riku Huttunen, Director-General, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment, Finland
  • Barbara Pompili, Minister for the Ecological Transition, France
  • Oliver Krischer, Parliamentary State Secretary, Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action, Germany
  • Alexandra Sdoukou, Secretary General for Energy and Mineral Resources, Greece
  • László Turóczy, Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the OECD, Hungary
  • Noor Rahman Sheikh, Joint Secretary, Ministry of External Affairs, India
  • Arifin Tasrif, Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources, Indonesia
  • Eamon Ryan, Minister for the Environment, Climate, Communications and Transport, Ireland
  • Roberto Cingolani, Minister for the Ecological Transition, Italy
  • Karine Elharrar, Minister of Energy, Israel
  • Koichi Hagiuda, Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan
  • Kiyoshi Odawara, State Minister for Foreign Affairs, Japan
  • Sung-Wook Moon, Minister of Trade, Industry and Energy, Korea
  • Dainius Kreivys, Minister of Energy, Lithuania
  • Claude Turmes, Minister for Energy and Spatial Planning, Luxembourg
  • Rocío Nahle, Secretary of Energy, Mexico
  • Leila Benali, Minister of Energy Transitions and Sustainable Development, Morocco
  • Sandor Gaastra, Director General for Climate and Energy, Ministry of Economic Affairs & Climate Policy, Netherlands
  • Anna Cameron, Chargé d'affaires, Permanent Delegation of New Zealand to the OECD, New Zealand
  • Terje Aasland, Minister of Petroleum and Energy, Norway
  • Mathias Cormann, Secretary-General, OECD
  • Anna Moskwa, Minister of Climate and Environment, Poland
  • João Galamba, Deputy Minister and Secretary of State for Energy, Portugal
  • Tan See Leng, Minister for Manpower and Second Minister for Trade and Industry, Singapore
  • Karol Galek, State Secretary, Ministry of Economy, Slovak Republic
  • Nobuhle Nkabane, Deputy Minister of Mineral Resources and Energy, South Africa
  • Teresa Ribera Rodriguez, Deputy Prime Minister for the Ecological Transition and Demographic Challenge, Spain
  • Khashayar Farmanbar, Minister for Energy and Digital Development, Sweden
  • Simonetta Sommaruga, Minister of Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications, Switzerland
  • Supattanapong Punmeechaow, Deputy Prime Minister, Thailand
  • Fatih Dönmez, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources, Turkey
  • Yaroslav Demchenkov, Deputy Minister of Energy for European Integration, Ukraine
  • Kwasi Kwarteng, Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, United Kingdom
  • Alok Sharma, COP26 President, United Kingdom
  • John Kerry, Special Presidential Envoy for Climate Change, United States
  • Joe Manchin, Chairman, Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources, United States
  • Jose W. Fernandez, Under Secretary of State for Economic Growth, Energy, and the Environment, United States

*video message.


  • François Jackow, Executive Vice President, Air Liquide
  • Guillaume Faury, Chief Executive Officer, Airbus
  • Aditya Mittal, Chief Executive Officer, ArcelorMittal
  • Paul Bodnar, Global Head of Sustainable Investing, BlackRock
  • Alexander Saverys, Chief Executive Officer, CMB
  • Luc Vandenbulcke, Chief Executive Officer, DEME
  • Jean-Bernard Lévy, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, EDF
  • Rodrigo Limp Nascimento, Chief Executive Officer, Eletrobras
  • Francesco Starace, Chief Executive Officer & General Manager, ENEL
  • Claire Waysand, Executive Vice President Corporate Secretariat, Strategy, Research & Innovation, Communication, Engie
  • Neil Chapman, Senior Vice President & Member of the Executive Committee, ExxonMobil
  • Jérôme Pécresse, President & Chief Executive Officer, GE Renewables
  • Claudio Facchin, Chief Executive Officer, Hitachi Energy
  • José Ignacio Sánchez Galán, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, Iberdrola
  • Rohitesh Dhawan, President & Chief Executive Officer, ICMM
  • Stephanie Pfeifer, Chief Executive Officer, IIGCC
  • Pol Le Roux, Vice President, Downstream, Lynas Rare Earths
  • Gurdeep Singh, Chairman & Managing Director, NTPC
  • Sumant Sinha, Founder, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, ReNew Power
  • Josu Jon Imaz San Miguel, Chief Executive Officer, Repsol
  • Marco Perona, Chief Executive Officer, Services, RES Group
  • Kevin Gallagher, Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer, Santos
  • Ben Van Beurden, Chief Executive Officer, Shell
  • Christian Bruch, President & Chief Executive Officer, Siemens Energy
  • Marco Alverà, Chief Executive Officer, Snam
  • Patrick Pouyanné, Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, TotalEnergies
  • Patrick Fragman, President & Chief Executive Officer, Westinghouse Electric Corporation
  • Meg O’Neill, Chief Executive Officer, Woodside Energy