Directive 2009/28/EC on the Promotion of Electricity Produced from Renewable Energy Sources

Source: International Energy Agency
Last updated: 11 December 2019

The European Union Council of Ministers and the European Parliament adopted a directive on the promotion of electricity from renewable energy sources in the internal electricity market (Directive 2001/77/EC) in September 2001.

The Directive allows establishing a green electricity certificate system and accompanying measures to facilitate the market penetration of renewable sources in line with competition rules. The

Directive applies to the following renewable non-fossil energy sources: wind, solar, geothermal, wave, tidal, hydropower, biomass, landfill gas, sewage treatment plant gas and biogases. The target is to achieve 22,1% of electricity produced from renewable energy and 12% of renewables in gross national energy consumption by 2010. It foresees an evaluation by the Commission of the compatibility of the national targets with these global indicative targets.

The Directives RE targets for electricity for EU Member Countries:

Belgium: 6% in 2010 (compared to 1,1% in 1997); Denmark 29% (8,7% in 1997); Germany 12,5% (4,5%); Greece 20,1% (8,6%); Spain 29,4% (19,9%); France 21% (15%); Ireland 13,2% (3,6%); Italy 25% (16%); Luxembourg 5,7% (2,1%); Netherlands 9% (3,5%); Austria 78,1% (70%); Portugal 39% (38,5%); Finland 31,5% ( 24,7%); Sweden 60% (49,1%); UK 10% (1,7%);European Community 22% (13,9%)

Member States must publish a report setting national indicative targets for renewable electricity, and outlining measures, taken or planned, to achieve these targets, by October 2002 and every 5 years thereafter.

Member States shall take the necessary measures to ensure that transmission and distribution systems operators in their territory guarantee the transmission and distribution of electricity produced from renewable energy sources. They may also provide for priority access to the grid system of renewable electricity. Member States shall bring into force the laws, regulations and provisions necessary to comply with the Directive not later than 27 October 2003.

After the accession of the 10 new Member States in 2004 the following targets were adopted: Czech Republic: 8% in 2010 (compared to 3,8% in 1997); Estonia 5,1% (0,2%), Cyprus 6% (0,05%), Latvia 49,3% (42,4%), Lithuania 7% (3,3%), Hungary 3,6% (0,7%), Malta 5% (0%), Poland 7,5% (1,6%), Slovenia 33,6% (29,9%), Slovakia 31% (17,9%).

The target for the Community was changed to 21% (12.9%).

The targets after the 2007 enlargement were set as follows: for Bulgaria 11% (6%) and for Romania 33% (28%). The Community target was kept at 21% (13.2%).

Want to know more about this policy ? Learn more