Critical Minerals List

Last updated: 28 July 2022

Australia's critical minerals list highlights the country's priority critical minerals based on global technology needs, particularly around electrification, advanced manufacturing and defence.
As of the 2022 Critical Minerals Strategy, the list includes 26 critical minerals. The list is a table including information on which minerals are also prioritised on other countries' national lists, each mineral's geological potential in Australia, the minerals' economic demonstrated resources for 2020, Australian production for 2020 and global production for 2020. The critical minerals listed benefit from project facilitation, increased government engagement and government investment. The list comprises the following minerals:

  • High purity alumina
  • Antimony
  • Beryllium
  • Bismuth
  • Chromium
  • Cobalt
  • Gallium
  • Germanium
  • Graphite
  • Hafnium
  • Helium
  • Indium
  • Lithium
  • Magnesium
  • Manganese
  • Niobium
  • Platinum-group elements
  • Rare-earth elements
  • Rhenium
  • Scandium
  • Silicon
  • Tantalum
  • Titanium
  • Tungsten
  • Vanadium
  • Zirconium

The minerals in bold are additions to the 2022 list, designated critical after consultation with the critical minerals industry and Australia's sciences agencies, because of their use in a variety of technologies including lithium-ion batteries and semiconductors. 

Want to know more about this policy ? Learn moreLearn more