Critical Minerals List 2021

Last updated: 27 October 2022

Canada’s minerals list contains 31 minerals considered critical to position Canada as a leading mining nation, and to ensure a sustainable economic development. Canada is a historic producer of many of those minerals. Natural Resources Canada has developed this list with a criteria-based approach (economic security, transition to a low-carbon economy, sustainable sourcing for partners). NRCan conducted consultations with provinces, and territories, as well as mining, exploration, and manufacturing industries and associations to identify the minerals and draft the list.

  • Aluminum
  • Antimony
  • Bismuth
  • Cesium
  • Chromium
  • Cobalt
  • Copper
  • Fluorspar
  • Gallium
  • Germanium
  • Graphite
  • Helium
  • Indium
  • Lithium
  • Magnesium
  • Manganese
  • Molybdenum
  • Nickel
  • Niobium
  • Platinum group metals
  • Potash
  • Rare earth elements
  • Scandium
  • Tantalum
  • Tellurium
  • Tin
  • Titanium
  • Tungsten
  • Uranium
  • Vanadium
  • Zinc

The minerals list is premised on the principle that critical minerals are essential to ensure Canada’s economic security. They are both  required for Canada’s own transition to a low-carbon economy, as well as providing a sustainable source for their strategic partners. 

Want to know more about this policy ? Learn more