Resolution MME 40065 on strategic energy mining zones

Last updated: 9 December 2023

Under Law 1753 of 2015, the Minister of Mines and Enegy may designate strategic zones for mining and energy development to allow the orderly management of natural resources. This resolution designates 8 strategic reserves zones in Córdoba, La Guajira, Norte de Santander, Tolima and Valle del Cauca that all have the potential for methane associated with coal deposits.

Want to know more about this policy ? Learn more (Spanish)