Baltic Declaration for Offshore Wind Energy

Source: International Energy Agency
Last updated: 29 February 2024

The Baltic Declaration for Offshore Wind Energy aims to accelerate and coordinate activities aimed at using the sea's energy potential. The signatories of the declaration are: Poland, Germany, Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, and the EU, during the "Pomeranian Offshore Wind Conference" organised by the Polish Wind Energy Association. The signatories are to cooperate to accelerate the construction of offshore wind energy in the Baltic Sea, to coordinate and optimize activities leading to the full use of the energy and economic potential of the sea. It is about joint spatial planning of maritime areas, development of networks or support mechanisms. The largest European industry organization, Wind Europe, estimates the Baltic's energy potential at 83 GW, which, according to the European Commission, exceeds 93 GW in 2050. So far, only 2.2 GW of wind farms have been built.

Want to know more about this policy ? Learn more