Solar Cities

Last updated: 24 August 2021
The aim of the Australian Government's Solar Cities program was to trial new sustainable models for electricity supply and use, and was implemented in partnership between all levels of government, industry business and local communities. Australia's Solar Cities were Adelaide, Alice Springs, Blacktown, Central Victoria, Moreland, Perth and Townsville. Each Solar City trialed a unique combination of energy options such as energy efficiency measures for homes and business, the use of solar technologies, cost reflective pricing trials and community education about better energy usage.The Solar Cities program has now closed and results from the evaluations are being used to help inform future government policy initiatives.

Want to know more about this policy ? Learn more