Conference — Edinburg, United States

International CCUS Summit

The Government of the United Kingdom and International Energy Agency will co-host an International CCUS Summit in Edinburgh on 28 November 2018. The Summit will bring together global energy leaders, including Ministers, CEOs of major energy companies and the financial community, to identify practical steps to accelerate investment in CCUS as a critical climate solution. The IPCC recently highlighted the unique importance of CCUS technologies in meeting climate goals and the CCUS Summit will provide an important opportunity to advance these technologies ahead of the COP24 negotiations.


13:30-13:50     Welcome and opening remarks

  • Minister Claire Perry
  • Dr Fatih Birol

13:50-15:10     Session 1: Priority actions to scale-up CCUS deployment

  • What are the significant challenges to scaling up CCUS deployment?
  • What business models could best overcome these challenges and support investment, including in CO2 transport and storage infrastructure?
  • Can a new economic model for CCUS be focused around clean hydrogen, carbon dioxide removal technologies, carbon utilisation and low carbon products?
  • What is required to engage the finance sector to stimulate investment in CCUS (including innovative and deployment investment)?
  • How can the narrative for CCUS support its central role in meeting global climate ambitions?

15:10-15:30     Coffee break

15:30-16:35     Session 2: Strengthening industry-government partnerships

  • What types of institutional arrangements could facilitate closer industry-government partnerships on CCUS deployment?
  • What approaches or mechanisms would allow project risks to be equitably shared between government and industry?
  • How can collaboration across and between industries be improved?
  • Can we build on existing initiatives such as the Clean Energy Ministerial and Mission Innovation and bring industry, governments and investors closer through these?

16:35-16:45     Closing remarks from co-chairs

16:50-17:20     Press conference

Confirmed participants

As of 22 November 2018

Ministers and Senior Government Officials

  • United Kingdom– Claire Perry, Minister of State for Clean Energy and Growth (Co-Chair)
  • Norway – Kjell-Børge Freiberg, Minister of Petroleum and Energy
  • Scotland – Paul Wheelhouse, Minister for Energy, Connectivity and the Islands
  • United States – Steven E. Winberg, Assistant Secretary for Fossil Energy
  • Japan – Akimasa Ishikawa, Parliamentary Vice Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry
  • Canada – Amanda Wilson, Director General, Office of Energy Research and Development, Natural Resources Canada
  • Netherlands – Noe van Hulst, Hydrogen Envoy for the Ministry of Economic Affairs & Climate Policy
  • United Arab Emirates – H.E Dr. Matar Alneyadi, Undersecretary, Ministry of Energy and Industry
  • Germany – Thomas Gaeckle, Deputy Director General, Raw Materials Policy, BMWi

CEOs and Senior Industry Executives

  • Royal Dutch Shell– Ben van Beurden, Chief Executive Officer
  • BP – Bob Dudley, Group Chief Executive
  • China Energy – Wen Ling, President & CEO
  • Equinor – Eldar Sætre, President and CEO
  • Peabody – Glenn Kellow, President and Chief Executive Officer
  • J-Power – Masayoshi Kitamura, Chairman
  • Occidental Petroleum – Vicki Hollub, President and CEO
  • Drax Group plc. – Will Gardiner, CEO
  • Ervia – Mike Quinn, Group Chief Executive Officer
  • Port of Rotterdam – Allard Castelein, Chief Executive Officer
  • Kuwait Petroleum Corporation – H.E. Nizar M. Al-Adsani, Deputy Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer
  • Saudi Aramco – Ahmad Al Khowaiter, Chief Technology Officer
  • Chevron – Mark Nelson, Vice President, Midstream, Strategy and Policy
  • Glencore – Peter Freyberg, Global Head of Coal Assets
  • ENI - Carlo Vito Russo, Executive Vice President Europe and Russia Region
  • ExxonMobil – Peter Trelenberg, Manager of Environmental Policy and Planning
  • Total – Ladislas Paszkiewicz, Senior Vice President Strategy and Climate
  • LafargeHolcim – Jens Diebold, Head of Sustainability
  • BHP – Fiona Wild, Vice President, Sustainability and Climate Change
  • Mitsubishi Heavy Industries – Yoshihiro Shiraiwa, Senior Vice President and Chief Regional Officer for Europe, Africa, and Middle East
  • Abu Dhabi National Oil Company (ADNOC) – Omar Suwaina Al Suwaidi, Director, Executive Office

Global partnerships and organisations

  • IEA– Fatih Birol, Executive Director (Co-Chair)
  • Gassnova – Trude Sundset, Chief Executive Officer
  • Global CCS Institute – Claude Mandil, Chairman (former IEA Executive Director)
  • Global CCS Institute – Brad Page, Chief Executive Officer
  • IPCC – Jim Skea, Professor of Sustainable Energy  & Co-Chair Working Group III
  • Oil and Gas Climate Initiative (OGCI) – Jerome Schmitt, Chairman of the Executive Committee
  • OGCI Climate Investments – Pratima Rangarajan, CEO
  • IFP Energies nouvelles – Didier Houssin, President
  • International CCS Knowledge Centre – Michael Monea, President and CEO
  • Center on Global Energy Policy, Columbia University – Julio Friedmann, Senior Research Scholar


  • Asian Development Bank– Priyantha Wijayatunga, Director, South Asia Energy Division
  • World Bank – Riccardo Puliti, Senior Director, Energy and Extractive Global Practice
  • Société Générale – Olivier Musset, Global Head of Energy, Natural Resources Group
  • Barclays – Iain Smedley, Managing Director; Chairman, EMEA Power, Utilities & Infrastructure Investment Banking
  • Generali Global Infrastructure – Sacha Kamp, Executive Director
  • Legal & General Capital – John Bromley, Head of Clean Energy Strategy
  • MUFG Bank – Carol Gould, Head of Power and Renewables Structured Finance Office for EMEA
  • London Stock Exchange plc. – Nikhil Rathi, Chief Executive Officer